The Day Today 5

The article I chose today was about 13 year old Jemima Layzell, the young girl died of a brain aneurysm in 2012. Her organs have been transplanted to eight people, this is the largest amount in the history of the organ donation service. She saved the lives of eight people, five of which are children. I loved reading about her story and it got me thinking about all the things those people can now go on and do. I began by writing down a few ideas and doing a quick experiment using a flower.

I used the flower as it was a living thing and I thought the petals would be a good representation of the organs going on to help others. I thought the outcome was okay but I wanted to experiment with other materials.

I love working with fabric so I used some old tights to make some organ looking shapes. I used stuffing to fill the shapes and used various materials to make them look interesting such as, embroidery thread, netting and string. I loved the way they turned out, I think the different shapes and sizes have a very interesting appearance together.

when reading about Jemima’s story I discovered that her family found her diaries she had been keeping since she was very young, they decided to turn her diary into a book called ‘The Draft’ and sell it to raise money for charity. I read a few of the diary entries and I really wanted to incorporate this some how, I thought about printing out a few of her dairy entries and putting them into the organs I made. However I couldn’t get the idea of all the people who’s life she has changed out my head, I instead decided to wright diary entries from those people in the future. I made the diary entries happy events that those people could go on to do thanks to her donation.

I loved the way these looked and decided to put these along side the organ shapes I made, I wanted to suggest that because of that organ a person went on to do something with their life and so placed a diary entry under each organ. I was really pleased with the over all outcome and am so happy I chose to do this article, Jemima’s story truly inspired me and encouraged me to sign up to become an organ donor myself.

IMG_0780

Leave a comment